Locations & Times

See All Campuses

2020 Sozo Educators Team

July 05 - July 14, 2020

Afghanistan

Trip Leader: Frances Reda and David Grundy
Team Size: 10

Trip Details

Flatirons is sending a team through our partner, Sozo International, to work alongside teachers at Sozo's School for Street-Working Children. This type of work is rooted in relationship and being a co-learner. As much as we want to share our educational abilities, we also believe that we have much to learn from how Sozo teaches. Participants should have an educational background, enjoy children, be energetic, relational, enjoy teamwork and learning.   For more information about Sozo check out their website

E-mail missions@flatironschurch.com with any questions.

Training Schedule

Participation in all meetings is a mandatory expectation when committing to a team. Meeting locations are held at Flatirons Offices in Lafayette, unless otherwise noted.

  • Application Deadline:  Thursday, March 26 (1 PM)
  • Interviews: Thursday, April 2 and Friday, April 3 (6:00 PM - 8:30)
  • First Team Meeting: Thursday, April 9 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
  • Team Service Day: Saturday, May 9 (8 AM -2 PM, location TBD)
  • Team Training Day: Saturday, June 20 (8 AM - 2 PM)
  • Departure Meeting: Tuesday, June 30 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
  • Trip Dates: July 5 - 14
  • Debrief Meeting: Wednesday, July 22 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 1: Wednesday, August 12 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 2: Wednesday, October 14 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 3: Wednesday, December 9 (6:30 PM - 8:30 PM)

APPLY

Cost

$3200.00

2020 Sozo Men's Team

September 20 - September 29, 2020

Afghanistan

Trip Leader: Brandon Luther 
Team Size: 8

Trip Details

The purpose of this all-men's trip is to continue to strengthen the bond between Flatirons and Sozo International by visiting the school and communities Sozo is impacting will encouraging and building relationships with Sozo's staff and the men they serve. Trip participants should be willing to interact and engage in conversation with Afghans, be committed to the vision of Flatirons, and be good team players. For more information about Sozo, visit their website: www.sozointernational.org

E-mail missions@flatironschurch.com with any questions.

Training Schedule 

All meetings are a mandatory expectation when committing to a team. Meeting locations are held at Flatirons Offices in Lafayette, unless otherwise noted.

  • Application Deadline: Thursday, June 11 (1 PM)
  • Interviews: Wednesday, June 17 & Thursday, June 18 (6-830 PM)
  • First Team Meeting: Thursday, June 25 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Team Service Day: Saturday, July 25 (8 AM-2 PM, location TBD)
  • Team Training Day: Saturday, August 29 (8 AM-2 PM)
  • Departure Meeting: Thursday, September 17 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Trip Dates: September 20-29
  • Debrief Meeting: Monday, October 5 (6:30-830 PM)
  • Next Steps 1: Monday, October 26 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 2: Monday, December 7 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 3: Monday, February 8, 2021 (6:30-8:30 PM)

APPLY

Cost

$3200.00

2020 Sozo Women's Team

November 08 - November 17, 2020

Afghanistan

Trip Leader: Teresa Locke
Team Size: 8

Trip Details

Women who have a heart for connecting with other ladies, who are team-players, love throwing a good party and sharing God's love through connection and relationship are encouraged to apply for this all-women's team. This team will interact with our partner Sozo International in Afghanistan. The team will have the opportunity to engage with Afghan women in special and unique ways that are limited on a co-ed or all men's team. The vision for this trip will be to continue in relationship with Sozo's female staff members and women they serve, to honor them, learn from them, celebrate similarities and differences, engage in their work and offer support by reflecting how much God loves them.   For more information about Sozo, check out their website

E-mail missions@flatironschurch.com with any questions.

Training Schedule 

All meetings are a mandatory expectation when committing to a team. Meeting locations are held at Flatirons Offices in Lafayette, unless otherwise noted.

  • Application Deadline: Thursday, July 30 (1 PM)
  • Interviews: Wednesday, August 5 & Thursday, August 6 (6-830 PM)
  • First Team Meeting: Wednesday, August 12 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Team Service Day: Saturday, September 12 (8 AM-2 PM, location TBD)
  • Team Training Day: Saturday, October 10 (8 AM-2 PM)
  • Departure Meeting: Wednesday, November 4 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Trip Dates: November 8-17
  • Debrief Meeting: Monday, November 30 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 1: Wednesday, December 9 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 2: Wednesday, February 4, 2021 (6:30-8:30 PM)
  • Next Steps 3: Wednesday, May 12, 2021 (6:30-8:30 PM)

APPLY

Cost

$3200.00

GET INVOLVED

Pray

  • Signup for Sozo’s e-newsletter: sozointernational.org (link at page bottom)
  • Follow Sozo on FacebookInstagram and Twitter
  • Set a recurring calendar appointment as a reminder to pray regularly for Sozo
  • Post a map or picture in a place to remind you to pray for Sozo
  • As you get to know more about Sozo, consider picking out a few things or people to specifically and consistently pray for

Give

  • Make a general one-time or ongoing donation to Sozo online.
  • Make a donation to provide support to one of Sozo’s initiatives: sozointernational.org, click on Initiatives (Education, Economic, Healthcare, Family Outreach)
  • Donate your gently used laptops to Sozo for use in the school and training center.
  • If you are part of a small group that would like to engage with one of our programs or families on a regular basis – info@sozointernational.org
  • Get to know Afghans who have moved here and build a relationship with them
  • Raise awareness with your friends, family, neighbors and coworkers about Sozo and host an event to share about what Sozo is doing in New York and Afghanistan – contact:  info@sozointernational.org
  • Upcoming Sozo events will be announced via their newsletter – invite friends and family to come to those with you

Go

  • Apply to go on a short-term team from Flatirons.